Summary of Alabama Homebrew LawsDan Roberts2020-08-26T09:45:39-05:00
The state legislature legalized homebrewing in Alabama in 2013 but there are very strict regulations. The law is found in Code of Alabama § 28-4B-1. This page provides a high level summary of the law, but should not be considered legal advice.
Who can homebrew?
Persons who have never been convicted of a felony
Persons who are at least 21 years of age
What can be homebrewed?
Beer at or below 13.9% ABV
Table wine at or below 24% ABV
Mead at or below 18% ABV
Cider at or below 8.5% ABV
Where can homebrew be made?
Only at your legal residence
Only in a wet county or a wet municipality within a dry county
How much can be made?
No more than 15 gallons, per residence, each quarter of the calendar year
May not have more than 15 gallons, per residence, at any time
Where can I take homebrew?
No more than 10 gallons can be removed from the legal residence at a time
May only be removed for organized competitions and judgings specifically licensed as such by the ABC Board
A homebrew competition cannot be held at a place otherwise licensed (so no breweries, bars, wholesalers, etc.)
Home distillation (i.e. moonshining) is illegal under both federal and state law
Persons under 21 years of age may not purchase, possess, or transport homebrew or any homebrew equipment
It is unlawful to sell, furnish, give away, or provide homebrew equipment to persons under 21 years of age